The members come from a variety of professional backgrounds.

Please note that the positions on the Scotland Advisory Committee are not remunerated.


Willy Roe CBE D.Univ B.Sc FRSA

Willy Roe is a strategic consultant and facilitator, with 30 years’ experience in strategic futures, education, public services, partnerships, and leadership development in the UK and internationally. He was awarded a CBE in 2010 for his contributions to public services and an Honorary Doctorate from The Open University in 2009 for his work in public service reform in Scotland. His current roles include: Chair, British Council’s Scotland Advisory Committee, and Associate, PA Consulting Group.

Professor Anne H. Anderson O.B.E FRSE

She is Vice Principal & Head of the College of Social Sciences, at the University of Glasgow having previously been Vice Principal & Head of College of Art, Science & Engineering at the University of Dundee. In both Universities she has been active in building international links.  She has served on the governing body of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council and is currently a Commonwealth Scholarship Commissioner as well as being on the board of Visit Scotland.

Beth Bate

Beth Bate is Director of Dundee Contemporary Arts (DCA). With large-scale gallery spaces, cinemas, a print studio and an award-winning learning programme, DCA attracts over 380,000 visits a year. Previously Beth was Director of Great North Run Culture in Newcastle and a consultant on curatorial and advocacy projects with The British Museum, Arts Council England, and Tyne and Wear Archives and Museums. She is a Clore Fellow and a Trustee of Edinburgh Art Festival and West Ward Works. 

Professor Graham Caie, CBE, FRSE

Graham is professorial research fellow, Glasgow University, where he was previously Clerk of Senate, Vice Principal and International Dean. He represents the UK on the Board of ALLEA (the Federation of European Academies) and is Vice President, Scottish Text Society, member of Court of Queen Margaret Univ, Trustee, Faculty of Advocates Abbotsford Collection and on the National Library of Scotland Governance and Research Cttss. 

Janette Harkess

Janette Harkess is Director of External Relations for the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. A former journalist, she was Head of Media for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games and previously Director of Policy and Research for the Scottish Council for Development and Industry. She is on the board of National Theatre of Scotland and an honorary Vice President of the Journalists' Charity. She has served as a Commissioner to the Poverty Truth Commission in Scotland.


Sarah Deas

Sarah is Head of Inclusive Models at Scottish Enterprise, overseeing policy for employee ownership, co-operatives and social enterprise. Her professional background is in strategy, marketing and business development within international companies. In a non-executive capacity, she is a trustee of the Bank of Scotland Foundation, a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and an Executive Coach. She was previously chair of Arts & Business Scotland and trustee of the Scottish Youth Theatre. 

Marcus Herbert

Marcus is editor in cheif at Previously he worked for the BBC as a commissioning editor and executive producer in science, responsible for award-winning programmes such as Planet Ant. Marcus moved to Glasgow in 2004 to help launch the Culture Show, the BBC’s arts magazine. His background is in current affairs: he was assistant editor on Newsnight and worked as a producer in Washington and Moscow. In 2010 he was a Knight Journalism Fellow at Stanford University.

Steven Kidd

Steven is passionate about participation and has been active in this area since his teenage years, being a founder member and former Chair of the Scottish Youth Parliament. Professionally, his expertise is in the youth and community sector, having led the Glasgow 2014 Education Programme, worked on learner voice at Learning and Teaching Scotland (now Education Scotland). Steven is currently working in child rights education for Unicef UK and is a non-executive director of YouthBank Scotland.

Dr Bill Maxwell

Now working as an educational consultant, Bill retired as Chief Executive of Education Scotland and HM Chief Inspector of Education for Scotland in June 2017. After an initial career in educational psychology, he joined the Scottish education inspectorate in the mid-90s, where he worked across Scotland. Bill became HM Chief inspector for Wales in 2008. Two years later he returned to the Scottish Inspectorate, before leading the creation of Education Scotland.

Angela Morgan CQSW/MSc(econ)SW

Angela is a social worker by profession and spent many years working in mental health and community care in England and in Scotland. More recently her focus has been on young people, justice and inequality, as Director of Families Outside and from 2007 as Chief Executive of Includem (retiring Feb 2017). She is Chair of the Scottish Community Development Centre and a trustee and Convenor of the Quality and Practice Improvement Committee of The Donaldsons Trust.