The members come from a variety of professional backgrounds.

Please note that the positions on the Scotland Advisory Committee are not remunerated.


Angela Morgan CQSW/MSc(econ)SW

Angela is a social worker by profession and spent many years working in mental health and community care in England and in Scotland. More recently her focus has been on young people, justice and inequality, as Director of Families Outside and from 2007 as Chief Executive of Includem (retiring Feb 2017). She is Chair of the Scottish Community Development Centre and a trustee and Convenor of the Quality and Practice Improvement Committee of The Donaldsons Trust.

Hala Ousta

As a Public Policy MSc graduate from the University of Glasgow, with previous postgraduate qualifications in Law, Equality and Discrimination, Hala is a keen equalities campaigner who is passionate about football and female participation. She is currently working for the Scottish FA as a Diversity & Inclusion Officer, sits as a Board Director for Women in Football, and is the Founder and Chair of Inspiring Women Scotland. 

Dr Cindy Sughrue OBE

Cindy Sughrue is the Director of the Charles Dickens Museum, London. She was previously the Chief Executive & Executive Producer of Scottish Ballet where she significantly expanded the company’s work in the UK and internationally. Previous posts include Director of the Collective Gallery, and General Manager of Dance Base. Cindy has served on numerous Boards, and is currently a Trustee of the Dame Margot Fonteyn Scholarship Fund and the National Youth Jazz Orchestra.

Karen Watt

Karen Watt

Karen was Chief Executive of the Scottish Housing Regulator, and in 2009, moved into central government as Principal Private Secretary to the First Minister, Alex Salmond. In early 2012, Karen became Head of Enterprise, Tourism and Cities policy. Karen was appointed Director of External Affairs in November 2012, responsible for the Scottish Government’s international and European engagement, international development programme, and UK relations.


Professor Petra Wend

Principal at Queen Margaret University since 2009, Petra was re-appointed in 2014 as Vice-Convener of Universities Scotland. Her PhD was in Italian Language and Literature and she researched institutional strategies; leadership and management.  She chairs the National Implementation Board for Teaching Scotland’s Future and is a member of QAA UK and QAA Scotland. She is also an external auditor for internationalisation at HRK (Committee of German universities).